Interview w/ @jcolemanbeats

Michelle:  How did you become a beat maker?

J-Coleman:  When my mother gave birth to me, I think that’s what happened next… but for a more serious answer it was something I always wanted to do, so I let my interest and love for the art guide me from there.
 
 
Michelle:  How would you define your style of beat making?

J-Coleman:  I would say I have that mid 90s boom bap style.  My style is similar to a Pete Rock or DJ Premier, but I don’t bite them though.  I like to flip and chop up old samples.  I also use a lot of violins in my production.  I also like to chop the notes up, and rearrange them.  I just like it like that.  Listen to this joint I did for Yatta AKA Da Kaptain called “Slow Down”, you can download it here at this link http://www.mediafire.com/?ymyhjqhtmnm.  That beat really sums up a good little bit of how I usually make tracks, however for anyone reading this interview, or listening to that song don’t just put me in a box just yet, I can also flip it many other different ways as well.
 
Michelle:  What do you think about the state of the music industry as a whole?

J-Coleman:  I say it’s different now than how it used to be.   I say the current state of the economy and the Internet has effected the music industry a lot.  The economy changed it because right now buying music and going to concerts isn’t a priority, especially when most music consumers are out of a job.  I thank god in this crazy economy that I have a real job, in addition to my side hustles and music producing.  In this economy you need about 2 or 3 jobs, a side hustle, something to do on the weekends, a lottery ticket, a back-up plan and some type of extra education, and a settlement check.  In fact, after I’m done with this interview I’m going to go find a Walmart to slip and fall in.  The Internet has changed the industry because it’s now easier to get albums and music without having to pay for it, and the Internet has also made it easier for aspiring artists and musicians to just force their own material down people’s throat regardless of if it’s great or not.  I should know, I do it all the time!  I could go on and on and on with this topic, but to sum it all up… a) the economy made it so that people are too broke to buy music and b) the Internet made it so that the supply is higher than the actual demand. 
 
Michelle:  What would you like to be doing 10 yrs from now?

J-Coleman:  Still breathing!  10 years from now I would like to be a well established, influential figure in the recording and entertainment industry.  It would be great if 10 years from now, someone would list me as one of their influences.  
 
Michelle:  Who are your influences?
J-Coleman:  As a beatmaker, I would say DJ Premier, Pete Rock… um… 9th Wonder, Pharrell, RJD2, Timbaland, Kanye… the list of beatmakers that have an influence on me go on and on… but mostly the guy I see everyday in the mirror.
 
Michelle:  Do you feel you are a positive role model for todays youth in America?

J-Coleman:  Yes and no.  (laughs), I volunteer for a non profit organization called the Ketchmore Kids Foundation ran by Chanell Ketchmore, another artist I’ve had the pleasure of working with.  We help the children by putting together self empowerment workshops for teens and children, and give them positive activities to keep their minds active and off the streets.  The only activities I participate in that I wouldn’t recommend to a younger person are the ones that only adults should do!  Nothing illegal though, but I also want to say that nobody is perfect, trouble is so easy to get into, and if I end up in some kind of crazy scandal with my mug shot plastered all over the front page of a google search, I want to give all the children this message in advance, “kids, stay in school and stay out of trouble!  Do as I say and not as I do”.  There you go.  Getting back to Chanell Ketchmore, we recently recorded a song together titled “Calling All Troops” with her rapping over a beat I made of course.  You can download it here at this link http://www.mediafire.com/?dde4ny21xqn.  The song has a positive message about steering the youth in the right direction and keeping them out of trouble.
 
 
Michelle:  How can you change the game?
J-Coleman:  Well time will tell me the answer to that question.  In the meantime, I’m going to work hard and do what I do and see what results I get, and see how the game will change from what I’ve done.
 
Michelle:  What separates you from others in your field?

J-Coleman:  Well, if this was the mid 90s, the type of beats I make might be considered run of the mill or ordinary, but now-a-days so many producers try to emulate this current trend of using snaps for snares, fast high hats with tracks that have low BPMs, all these synthetic sounds, lasers in the background and simple a, b, c keyboard loops, that when people hear me flipping an old jazz sample or hear one of my beats where I chopped up some classical music and placed some hip hop drums behind it they go “wait a minute… this is….. different stuff!”.  That old sample flippin’ that used to be popular 15 years ago is now considered “alternative” or “different” today.  Kids today don’t check their history or go back and listen to the old stuff, so when these 18, 19, 20 and 21 year olds listen to my instrumentals they go “hey, that’s a new sound!  How did you do it!?” (laughs) and when I play beats for dudes my age… in their late 20s and some of these guys in their early to mid 30s they go “yo I know where you sampled that!!” (laughs).  It’s funny.  That alone separates me from others in my field, but as for the beatmakers that do what I do, and pitch their music to artists that would more than likely use my production for their projects, the thing that separates me from what they do is that I don’t just market myself as a “producer” or “beatmaker”, I market myself more so like an entertainer that just happens to make beats too.  The guys my age, and the guys that have that old mid 90s, vinyl sampling style to them have this traditional “beatmakers are to be heard and not seen” mentality.  So they are the quiet guys that just make beats and let the music speak for themselves, but me on the other hand, I host events, chill with the artists in their youtube music videos, do interviews, go on podcasts, sit on seminar panels, I go and do all that, and I plug myself while doing it.  So that is another thing that makes me a little different from your average beatmaker.  I’m not by any means saying that I’m the best or the most talented, but I will go as far and say I’m one of the most… “different”.
 
Michelle:  What would you like your legacy to be?

J-Coleman:  I want to be remembered as that guy that…. had a huge impact.  A man who made a difference.  Also sense this question has the word Legacy in it, check out the new song by L.E.G.A.C.Y. a member of North Carolina’s Justus League called “Reckless”, another song I composed the beat for. You can download the song “Reckless” here at this link http://www.mediafire.com/?eymmoytyydz.
 
 
Michelle:  Is there anything else you would like the people to know about J-Coleman?
J-Coleman:  Oh yeah anything else that I didn’t cover in this interview, you can find here at my official blog http://www.jcolemanbeats.blogspot.com and for any artists interested you can hit me up at JColemanBeats@gmail.com.  I’m also on facebook at http://www.facebook.com/jonathangcoleman and you can also check out the official YouTube page at http://www.youtube.com/jcolemanbeats

Official Blog:  http://www.jcolemanbeats.blogspot.com
Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/jcolemanbeats
Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/jonathangcoleman
Youtube:  http://www.youtube.com/jcolemanbeats
Myspace:  http://www.myspace.com/jcoleman
Soundclick: http://www.soundclick.com/jcolemanbeats

Published in: on April 27, 2010 at 12:58 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chelles206.wordpress.com/2010/04/27/interview-w-jcolemanbeats/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

