Interview w/ @MissPaulaFlava

How did you choose your name?

My name was chosen for me by producer, Kevin “Kyze’ Ravanell.  The first day I met him he kept calling me “Miss P” and I loved the respect it carried, so I adopted it and here I am.

How did you start rhyming/singing?

My biggest influence is Faith Evans.  When she dropped her first album, I remember NOT being able to sing. I would listen to her melodies, riffs, leads….the way she made me feel through singing, I wanted to make others feels.  It was then that I adopted singing as a part of who I was. I love Faith Evans for doing that for me!

How would you define your style?

I define Miss Paula as the friend in you head, the sister that some of us never had. My style is classy and consevative but still hood.  I’m from Paterson, NJ so it’s natural I’ve adopted a love for some fresh nikes and skinny jeans (LOL) But mostly, I live for the opportunity to slide into some Candy Coated stilettos and a pretty dress! Everyone that knows me knows that anything glittery and gold, I flock to it!

What would you like to be doing 10yrs from now?

10 years from now I will be a household name, if not through my music, through the company I’ve created, Candy Flavas.  I work hard everyday at both, the music and my business.  People that experience my music are touched.  Other that experience the products of Candy Flavas, melt.  All of these experinces are impactful and those kind of seeds usually produce healthy harvest.  In 10 years, I hope to be sharing and growing that harvest!

What do you think about the state of the industry?

I think the industry is a bit boring visually.  We see the same faces, same bodies, same voicies and without something different to experience it becomes boring. I’m a size 12, confident and strong vocalist and an even stronger songwriter….I feel like I have so much to offer the game because I represent change. I represent difference. I feel sexy, smart, vibrant, powerful and valuable and all of that comes across in the way I speak, the words I write, the ideas I project into tangibility.  I am an asset to the game because of all of these things

Unlike artist who depend on the record deal to define them and provide them with with an image which links ito the marketing of  merchandising opportunities, I am making my own doors to open.  I created a company for the new generation of sophisticated females in the world who want to Go GREEN and stay feminine while doing so.  I created this outlet, knowing that with the state of the world and our environment, eventually everything will be GREEN. As an artist, I plan to make GREEN awareness an agenda, especially in urban neighborhoods where that kind of education doesn’t take priority.

Why should people buy your album?

People should buy my music because I am their stories. I am the hurt and disappointment they’ve tried to bury for years. I am the happiness they feel when they first meet the love of their lives. I am also the heartbreak when that love leaves.

What is your take on our youth in America, how influencing do you feel you are on them?

I influence the youth in a positive way by showing them that it’s cool to want to be a entreprenuer.  It’s cool to work hard to acheive goals for yourself. My company invests in our youth, our communities and our Earth.

What would you like your legacy to be?

I would like my legacy to be that I inspired and change the state of the world through products and music.

What is in your cd player?

In my CD player now is Jim Jones “The Ghost of Rich Porter”, Jeezy “Trap or Die 2” and Usher “Raymond vs Raymond”

Miss Paula
www.twitter.com/misspaulaflava

Miss Paula website full of videos, music downloads and Fan Prizes coming March 2010

Check Out My Music and Learn More About Me and My Journey As A Songwriter and Owner/Partner of CandyFlavas LLP

Published in: on June 17, 2010 at 12:29 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chelles206.wordpress.com/2010/06/17/interview-w-misspaulaflava-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Miss Paula , @missChelle206 . @missChelle206 said: Make Sure U Ck Out My Interview w/ @MissPaulaFlava here—–> http://wp.me/pStx4-16 […]


Leave a Reply

